7 Types of Vegetarians, from Flexitarian to Vegan

7 Types of Vegetarians, from Flexitarian to Vegan
7 Types of Vegetarians, from Flexitarian to Vegan

Vegetarians – The world commemorates World Vegan Day or World Vegan Day on November 1. Celebrating World Vegan Day means celebrating a diet as well as an animal-free lifestyle.
Judging from the diet, generally people know vegan and vegetarian only. In fact, some think vegan is the same as vegetarian. where vegan stands for vegetarian. Though the two are different. Vegetarianism is a lifestyle that refuses to eat food from animals. There are types or levels of vegetarianism.

Flexitarian

You could say flexitarian is the most loose and flexible type of vegetarian as the name ‘flexi’. Flexitarians emphasize the consumption of plant-based foods while incorporating small amounts of animal products.

Launching from Healthline, the flexitarian principle is to eat a diet mostly protein from plants rather than animals, limit added sugars, limit processed foods and include less meat and animal products occasionally. Technically, sometimes flexitarians are not considered vegetarians. To know more about political law you can visit this site folderaccess

Pescatarian

This one diet is a plant-based diet and adds fish. Pescatarian begins with the word ‘pesca’ or ‘pesce’ which in Italian means fish.

People who practice pescatarian will eat fish-based foods such as tuna, salmon, mackerel, milkfish, as well as all-fish menus such as sushi, sashimi. In addition, they avoid other animal products such as beef, chicken, or pork.

Pollotarian

Pollotarians are similar to flexitarians. This semi-vegetarian diet eliminates red meat and pork but still includes poultry such as chicken, duck, turkey and other poultry. Therefore, this one diet is also often not considered a vegetarian.

Because the restrictions are quite few and relatively loose, pollotarians can be the first step to adopting a vegetarian and even vegan diet.

Lacto-ovo vegetarian

The lacto-ovo vegetarian diet is regarded by some as being the most conventional vegetarian diet. The Latin word “lac,” which implies milk or, more particularly, milk from mammals, is where the term “lacto” is derived. Ovo, on the other hand, is derived from the term “ovum,” which signifies egg.
A lacto-ovo vegetarian diet includes dairy products such cheese, butter, yogurt, and ice cream while excluding all other meats like beef, fish, poultry, and pork. Some lacto-ovo vegetarians, like Buddhists and Hindus, choose this diet because of their religious beliefs.

Ovo vegetarian

Next, ‘Ovo’ refers to eggs so those who adopt a vegetarian ovo diet continue to consume eggs and their derivatives and do not consume other animal products including meat and dairy.

Then, Ovo vegetarians will not eat ice cream containing milk, cheese, butter, and yogurt. In addition to plant-based foods, the diet will contain egg-based foods, for example, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, omelets, and egg fried rice. It is also possible to consume it on bread or cakes such as muffins or cakes with egg content.

Lacto-vegetarians

On the other hand, those who are lacto-vegetarians reject anything that smells of eggs. They can consume milk and its derivative products in addition to consuming plant-based foods. Like other types of vegetarians, lacto vegetarians do not eat meat, either beef, chicken, fish and pork.

Like lacto-ovo vegetarians, those who apply lacto-vegetarians for reasons of culture or belief. Lacto vegetarianism is very common among Buddhists, Hindus and Jains (a belief that originated in India).

Vegans

Vegans are known as the strictest type of vegetarian. And then, Vegans have absolutely no contact with animal products. This is not limited to meat, eggs, and milk and their derivatives but also other products such as honey, gelatin, collagen, albumin, and oils from animals.

Vegans also practice veganism, which means a lifestyle that eliminates everything that has to do with exploitation and cruelty to animals. As an application in life, they will not use products from animal skins, choose products that are ‘cruelty-free’ or do not apply cruelty to animals, free of animal testing (animal free testing).

Read More: xpmutations